AFAP Hosts Inaugural Hub Agro-Dealer of the Year Awards (HAYA) 2023

30 Oct 2023

On Wednesday, 6 September 2023, AFAP hosted the inaugural Hub Agro-Dealer of the Year Awards 2023 (HAYA 2023) on the sidelines of the Africa’s Food Systems Summit 2023 in Dar es Salaam. The HAYA event brought together key stakeholders, agribusiness executives, policymakers, and experts from other sectors to recognize the critical role of Hub Agro-dealers in agricultural development across the continent. These Agri-SMEs support agriculture industry innovation, sustainability, and growth, greatly contributing to improved food security and community development.

The event was initiated by AFAP with support from partners, including the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation (BMGF), the International Resources Group (IRM), Maaden, and OCP Africa.

The winners of the categories go as follows:

Hub Agro-dealer of the Year Award:

East Africa – Kato Hassan, KAMM Farmers Services

Cecilia Khupe Trailblazer Award:

Southern Africa – Rose Chimwemwe Kalua, Rose Haris Investments,

West Africa – Madame Elizabeth Ava Dwamena, Northgate

East Africa – Fediline Mahenga’s brother, Fediline Mahenga Hub

Regional Hub Agro-dealer Award:

East Africa – Kato Hassan, KAMM Farmers Services

Southern Africa – Peter Mawindo, Mawindo Enterprise

West Africa – Zakaria Inusah, Wumpini Agrochemicals

AFAP extends its warmest congratulations to each of the deserving award recipients. Their exceptional accomplishments not only serve as a source of pride for the African agricultural community but also underline the transformative potential of Hub Agro-Dealers in propelling the continent’s agricultural sector towards greater heights.

In addition to the Hub Agro-dealer nominees and winners, AFAP also introduced the Cecilia Khupe Trailblazer Award honoring the memory of the late Cecilia Khupe, Chief Operations and Compliance Officer at AFAP. This special award recognized individuals or entities in the agricultural sector who had shown exceptional innovation and leadership, setting new standards and inspiring positive change. The first recipients of this award included Rose Chimwemwe Kalua, Rose Harris Investments from Malawi, Madame Elizabeth Ava Dwamena, Northgate from Ghana, and Fediline Mahenga from Tanzania.